Growing a Love of Gardening

We bought a house last year and it’s the first time my husband and I have had an opportunity to garden. As first-time gardeners, we were lucky enough to buy a house from a couple who are excellent gardeners. This means all we have to do is try to keep up their amazing work and add to it according to our own preferences and lifestyle.

 

Over this year, I’ve been able to figure out a little bit on my own. But while I’ve used google to figure out how to prune our rose bushes and what our city’s rules are regarding rain barrels, knowing when to plant new flowers and how to put in a vegetable garden is dependent on where we live. I’m never quite sure if a blog or website I’m looking at is right for our location.


Luckily, we have an aunt and uncle who are expert gardeners; Sue is a Master Gardener. When I asked for some advice, she was kind enough to send me a couple of books specific to our climate zone and region. These books have been incredibly helpful in offering information geared toward our geographic area. As a novice, I didn’t realize how important it was to consider our soil make-up, our climate zone, and our growing season.

Sue’s garden was featured on an episode of Growing a Greener World, on PBS. My husband and I finally got a chance to watch it and we were blown away by all she, and her husband Bill, have accomplished. Our garden will never be as big as theirs, we are contemplating only one garden bed, but we will certainly use some of the tips they shared in this segment.

Here’s a link if you’d like to see their beautiful garden too.

http://www.growingagreenerworld.com/episode-809-in-susans-garden/

Do you garden? What is the most helpful advice you’ve been given as a gardener?


Leave a Reply

