Recipe of the Week: Pork Handpies

I’ve been watching a lot of The Great British Baking Show lately. This inspired me to make some handpies. Since I’ve never made a handpie from scratch, I wanted to find something easy that everyone in my house (including a picky 5 year old and a less picky 2 year old) would like. So I decided on this one, a Louisiana-style fried pork pie. You can find the original recipe here, but as I looked at the recipe, I knew I had to change a more than a few things. So here’s what I wound up with:

Ingredients:

Filling

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 1 tsp sal
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Pastry

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp cold unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 large egg beaten
  • 1 large egg beaten (keep separated)

Instructions:

Make filling: heat vegetable oil in a frying pan over medium heat. When the oil is hot, add the pork and garlic. Cook all the way through until there is no pink. Add salt and flour until all of the oil is absorbed and mixture is dry. Transfer the cooked pork to a bowl and cool.

Make pastry: Shift flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Using a pastry cutter or two knives, cut cold butter into the flour mixture until it resembles cornmeal. Add egg and milk and stir until a ball forms. Transfer dough to a floured surface and roll out to 1/8 inch thick. Using a bowl or other round object, cut dough into circles. Fill each circle with pork. Fold over dough to create half moons. Seal edges with a fork dipped in water.

Put the assembled pies onto a sheet of parchment paper on a baking pan in the refrigerator. You can keep them here until you’re reading to bake them or until the oven is preheated. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. When oven is hot, take out pies from the fridge and brush each one with the beaten egg. Place in oven for 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Tips

  • I don’t like extra tools hanging around my kitchen unless they pull double duty. So instead of a pastry cutter I use two knives. Once it feels like I’m spinning in circles with the knives I use my hands.
  • It’s important to throw your assembled handpies into the fridge. Since we’re using butter instead of shortening, you need to keep the butter as cold as possible to make a flaky dough.
  • I hate wasting dough after cutting the circles. So I rolled up the extra dough up and stuck them in the oven with the rest of the handpies. They are relatively ugly, but they taste good. I had them with jam. They taste just like biscuits.

    Leave a Reply

    