Recipe of the Week: Spam Musubi + Bonus recipe

I am so excited to share my spam musubi recipe, a Hawaiian staple. This is a spam sushi for those of you who have never had one and it’s very simple to make. I usually have all the ingredients on hand, which is great because my son regularly asks for it. They are great for a party because you can prepare them in advance and you don’t need to keep them hot or cold.

My husband had to make them for work so he took the tools I’d usually use to make them, but this turned out to be a positive thing because my musubi mould is difficult to find. I buy mine at Longs Drugs Store when I visit my family in Hawaii. So, if you aren’t going to Hawaii anytime soon, you can use the method I used while my husband had my musubi mould.


For those of you who may be familiar with spam musubi or are from Hawaii, my version is very simple. Here’s a few quick notes:

  • I do not like teriyaki sauce on my spam. I will include a simple teriyaki recipe here in case you like it, but I don’t.
  • I do not use sushi rice. I like the simple taste of the white rice with the salty spam.
  • Keep a bowl of water near your workspace so you can get your hands/fingers wet. It helps to keep the rice from sticking.
  • These should be kept at room temperature. Bacteria grows on rice rather quickly, so you want to eat them within a day or two, which isn’t hard in my house.
  • My secret ingredient IS difficult to find, at least on the mainland. If you live near an asian grocery store, you will probably be able to find it no problem. But if your asian grocery store doesn’t have it, then you might have to do without it, like I did.
  • I’ve included pictures at the bottom of this post to help explain the instructions.

Ingredients

1 can of (low sodium) Spam – it doesn’t have to be low sodium, but this is what I buy

1 package of Nori or dried seaweed

3 cups of cooked calrose or medium grain white rice – cooked according to package


1 can of furikake – this is my secret ingredient and the one I’m currently missing đŸ˜¦


Instructions

  1. Cut Spam into approximately 8 thin slices.
  2. In a non-stick pan, fry slices of spam over medium heat until lightly browned.
  3. When spam are cooked, put them on a plate with paper to drain grease. (If you’re using teriyaki sauce, you want to brush some sauce on the spam after it’s been fried). When cooled slightly, cut each piece of spam into 4 long thin strips.
  4. On a non-stick mat, wooden mat, or piece of parchment paper, have one sheet of nori. Cover the nori in rice, pressing down slightly. Leave about 1/2 inch of nori without rice at one end.
  5. Place 4 thin strips of spam about 1/3 of the way on the rice & nori.
  6. Sprinkle furikake over the spam.
  7. Roll rice over spam, pulling tightly. Continue to roll tightly till the end of the nori.
  8. Use your wet fingers to get the nori to stick to each other to seal.
  9. Repeat until all of your spam is gone.





    Bonus points if you noticed the half eaten spam musubi in the back. It’s hard work making these and NOT eating one while you work. 

    Simple Teriyaki Sauce

    Mirin (japanese sweet cooking wine)

    Sugar

    Soy Sauce

    Sauce Instructions

    There are no amounts listed in the ingredient list because you can make any amount, the trick is that all the ingredients must be in equal proportions. So if you want to make a half cup of sauce, then you can do 1/4 cup of soy sauce, 1/4 cup of mirin, 1/4 cup of sugar. I usually make 1 cup or more each batch, put it in a glass jar, and keep it in the fridge to have on hand for a quick tofu stir fry or baked teriyaki chicken. You can, of course, add minced garlic and freshly grated ginger to this recipe. Either or both of those would be a nice addition, but I keep it simple and use this family tested recipe.

    1. Simply combine the ingredients in a small sauce pan over medium low heat. Bring to a boil, then turn the heat down to low.
    2. Let simmer until the sugar is dissolved and the sauce is the consistency you prefer. I like my sauce thick, so I usually let it go for about 10-15 minutes. Just make sure you watch it so it doesn’t boil over. You can burn this sauce!

    BONUS RECIPE: I made teriyaki chicken with this teriyaki sauce this week. I bought about a pound of boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I put the chicken in a ziplock bag and added about 1/4 cup of teriyaki sauce. I let it marinate in the fridge for a few hours. When I was ready to cook, I preheated the oven to 400 degrees. Lined a glass pan with foil and placed the chicken thighs in the pan. I baked for about 20 minutes, then checked to see if it reached 165 degrees internally (we live at a high altitude so you may have a different cooking time). I let it rest for another 5 minutes on the counter. I served it with white rice and steamed broccoli. My kids loved it!

     

    Leave a Reply

    