Memorial Day Weekend

I hope everyone had a lovely Memorial Day weekend. It’s an especially hard weekend for those who have lost families, friends, or brothers/sisters in arms, but I hope that by enjoying our freedom, we pay tribute to those who lost their lives.


Our family spent the day out at a local festival. Our boys had tons of fun, but as luck would have it, when they were next in line for the bounce house, the bounce house had to shut down due to rain. So of course we went back the next day so they could cash in their tickets and enjoy themselves. That day also coincided with my husband tweaking his back and me coming down with a cold. That meant my kiddos had a quiet Monday with little outside fun.

My fallback activity when I’m sick is letting my kids watch tv. Since it was both my husband and I who were sick/injured, we couldn’t really help each other the way we normally do. The only other time this has happened is when we both got food poisoning. Luckily, we only had our oldest son at the time, and he was about six months old so he was still sleeping a lot and not very mobile. Now that the kids are older, being sick takes on a new heaviness.

What do you do when you’re sick or out of commission? I’d love some ideas so the next time this happens, I have some alternatives to television.

One thought on “Memorial Day Weekend

Leave a Reply

