Why Blog?

Hello!

I love being a parent. I’m not always convinced I should be a stay-at-home mom, but I am very glad I had children and so thankful for the opportunity to work within the home. I first began blogging regularly a year ago when I started my book review blog, Love Serially. I began blogging because I really need to write. I love writing, I love reading, and while I love my kids, I needed something to do that wasn’t about them.

It’s a year later and I’m still writing about books, but it’s not enough. We recently moved to a new state, and I haven’t yet found my “tribe.” I have a few friends who are book lovers like me, that’s how we met, and I enjoying going to dinner with them and chatting about life and books. What I don’t have right now is a group of people who are parents of young children like me. I intend to rectify that by meeting people in real life through activities, but in the meantime, I wanted to find an online community to interact with as well.

So here I am, blogging about my journey as a parent. I have three children, two boys and one girl. They are four, two and two months old currently. My oldest goes to preschool and my younger two hang out with me most days. My husband is a teacher and before I stayed home with the kids, I worked at a private college in student affairs and academic affairs. I hope that as you read about my journey, you will comment. Share your thoughts with me so that I know I am not alone.

Perhaps it isn’t surprising that I like reading books about parenting. Some of that will probably bleed over into this blog, as it has definitely moulded my parenting style. But I’m not really interested in giving anyone advice. My kids are precious little snowflakes, and while I think science can help me to understand them, I also use my common sense as to what will work with their personalities or not. Since I don’t know your children, and don’t know your family, what works for me probably won’t work for you. But still, it’s nice to learn what other folks are doing. I am a curious sort of person and I find other people’s lives fascinating, so if you are comfortable, please share with me as I share with you.

Cheers!

One thought on “Why Blog?

  1. Very nice, I hope you enjoy blogging! I’m sorry I wasn’t table to Stay at home with you. Life may be very different for us. But, I am glad that you are happy and blessed! Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

